PDA

View Full Version : when to call?

JLIND2100
04-08-2007, 10:57 PM
this is probably a stupid question but I'm still new to this industry, still in school. hopefully being done with school next year. but lets get to the point when do most of you decide to call to get your local utilizes to come out and mark there lines, what type of jobs? how much soil are you planning on moving or disturbing.? any input would be great.

Mike33
04-08-2007, 11:11 PM
I learned the hard way. I never paid a fine or for repair but have been very embarassed. If you dig long enough you will hit something. In Md. miss utility free service handles it with in 2-3 days. At this time i WILL not go below a few iches under sod with out calling first. If you think you have the utilities figured out it will bite you in the ass. Never ass - u - me schedule your dig, Now more in my area they bore a lot some things out there you couldnt carry enough insurance. My opinion you make the descision.
Mike

JLIND2100
04-08-2007, 11:40 PM
i have a up coming job were i will be taking out some grass, putting down weed block, landscape staples, and putting in some landscape edging, i wont be going any deeper then 4 to 5 inches tops. so my question is should i call to get my local utility lines located before i start the work?

Ravenwood Landscaping
04-09-2007, 09:46 AM
You'd be surprised (or maybe not) how shallow some of the lines are. I hit a cable line raking the mulch in a flower bed two weeks ago. I've also hit the gas line as my in-laws that was 4 inches in the ground (thankfully not a customer). As far as I know most states have a free service that should come out in a few days to mark things for you. You should take advantage rather than have an embarassing moment in front of a customer.

Tahoe1889
04-09-2007, 11:30 AM
for PA From http://www.uwchlan.com/call-1st.htm

Digging and the Utilities

Before starting any work that requires digging, remember to call the