PDA

View Full Version : I have equipment and accounts...how do I make it GROW???

Toastpuppy
04-09-2007, 03:11 PM
Well...I got my little lawn serivce started up last year. I work as a full time firefighter in central florida, and am now running my slowly growing business on the side. I am not looking to "get rich" or anything like that, but why does anyone go into business for themselves???.....to turn a profit, right?
I have about 15 accounts, most of which, I have had since i started, and are so far very pleased with my work...keeping in mind I have done all my learning through trial and error, which I know is dangerous, and researching on the internet. I do all the basics, along with hedges, herbicide, etc... The business is picking up a little now that it's getting warmer again though.

So here is what I got...
I just upgraded to a 3/4ton diesel truck, got an 18ft enclosed trailer (getting logos put on it this week), and i'm buying a used 60" ExMark this week too. I also have a 36" Bunton walk behind, stihl edger, trimmer, ect.... you get the idea...all good stuff.
I mostly work by myself, but my brother (who is about to be a firefigher too) wants in on the business, as soon as he can get his probationary stuff done.

So here is the question...
I got the equipment, this big trailer, some accounts, a name, a kick ass logo, and some ads out in the local paper....Now...how do I really expand?
I have the means to do it, it's just a matter of getting more business. I have enough that I can pretty much knock everything out that I have in one day by myself. I'm not looking to kill myself out there, but seriously...theres got to be more out there! Am I just being too impatient? or am I missing something. I've got ads, the image, and more importantly...the quality.