PDA

View Full Version : Electricians, Were are you?

eskerlite
04-09-2007, 07:58 PM
How many electricians do we have amongst us? How many of you do more low voltage than line voltage? Whats your take on Landscapers not knowing enough about electricity vs. Electricians unfamiliar with shrubs and trees and water feature textures and lighting needs? How can we work in harmony? Whos out there?
Sean C.
Past President AOLP
:waving:

Pro-Scapes
04-10-2007, 10:27 AM
Hi sean I hope all is well up north.

While im not a licensed electrician and never perform line voltage work for a paying client (wired my home and my in laws home and several other friends and family call me for electrical work but never for hire) I do have a rather good understanding of electrical. Sometimes you run into a situation where line voltage is actually a good choice in lighting. Of course I install more low voltage than i reccomend line voltage.

I do feel strongly that my background in landscaping and the green industry has helped me imensly with my lighting. It does give me a better understanding especially when lighting a new landscape that has not matured yet. Electricians around here who are asked to light a home generally place 1 or more sodium lights a distance out from the home and thats that. In middle of grass... in beds... in whatever... they dont care it seems. Some clients really love the BAM look created by line voltage fixtures. Others want soft and inviting.

I really do want to persue my electricians license one day. Just makes me more versitile and no more waiting for someone to install an outlet for me.

klkanders
04-10-2007, 11:46 AM
Billy,
I also am not an electrician but have changed out fixtures, switches and outlets for myself. It has always intrigued me how it all works but unlike you i do not want to become an electrician. Line voltage scares the he** out of me but I think that's a good thing because I respect it and what it can do.