PDA

View Full Version : lawn rolling

sulston
04-10-2007, 12:59 PM
I originally posted this in the maintenance forum but since I am relatively new to the lawn biz and specifically to this area of lawn care I thought I'd try here too, hope thats OK. I need some advice. I have a customer who wants their lawn rolled for the fact that it is rather bumpy, which in fact it is. Now I know that a lot of you guys are against lawn rolling because of the compaction thing which I completely understand but I'm looking for some advice on what to tell this customer. I know that the lawn did not get aerated for the last 2 years so should I agree to roll it but recommend an aeration with it? Or should I just tell him it's really not a good idea, but then what do I do about the bumpiness? Is there a better way to fix that problem? Any advice is greatly appreciated, I'm just not sure how to go about this. If I'm going to tell him it shouldn't be rolled I'm going to need a good explanation as to why, more than just it compacts the soil. Thanks a lot.

weeble67
04-10-2007, 01:18 PM
Personally I would explain to him that rolling it will help eliminate some of the bumps. Then follow up with explaining the benefits of aerating a lawn. Then tell him you'll make him a package deal to do both of the services. Just explain that the aerating will not bring the bumps back.

bigmudder77
04-10-2007, 05:08 PM
i like rollling yards i think its good for them. i would roll it when the ground is damp so it will smooth out better and also try to get a aerating in there too you should make good money if you know what your doing

Grassmechanic
04-11-2007, 10:25 AM
i like rollling yards i think its good for them. i would roll it when the ground is damp so it will smooth out better and also try to get a aerating in there too you should make good money if you know what your doing