PDA

View Full Version : absolute noob here

robsgotit
04-10-2007, 07:24 PM
hello, my name is rob, a buddy of mine and i are going to try and start up a lawn care biz together, we both currently work in the automotive biz and are frankly very tired of it, we are young 24 and 25 the only problem is we havent got a penny saved to get this ball rolling, i just moved into a house with my g/f that we are renting plus 2 car loans and a pile of bills up to my neck, not to mention my serious car tuning habbit, my buddy also live by himself, were not struggling with money but we just dont have anything we can afford to put towards this right now, and we would like to get started within the month,

so heres the plan we have come up with, id just like to get some feedback from people how have done it to see if its possible,

1 hand out 500 flyers in paper boxes for driveway sealing
2 hope and pray we get at least 50 calls back, we will figure on the way low side of 250$ profit for each driveway thats 12,500 weekends and perhapes some sickdays from work if i dont feel like wrenching
3 offer other services at the time of sealing to the customers such as, gutter cleaning, pressure washing, mulch and basic spring yard clean-up etc... and let them know we are starting a biz and will be mowing soon and so on
3 take the large majority of profit to buy equipment,

and im sure you can see where it will go from there, the thing is i dont know anyone in the biz, so im not sure if this idea is even reasonable, does it seem to far fetched??
thanks in advance

rob

dloucks
04-10-2007, 07:38 PM
I'm new to this particular business but I would guess that 50 out of 500 flyers is WAY optimistic. In fact from what lurking/reading I've seen 1 or 2 out of 500 is a great turn around, and my fear would be that driveway sealing would be even harder to get call-backs unless someone just happened to have that need at the time.

bohiaa
04-10-2007, 07:48 PM