PDA

View Full Version : estimate

onefast750
04-11-2007, 01:06 PM
hi guys,

I'm new to this business and I have been doing some jobs on the side. I have a customer who wants her front yard done. She has flower beds all the way down her front walkway on both sides, a few flower beds, and some big circle beds around a few trees. I figure it would take about 4-5 yards of mulch to accomplish this job. Also I will also be edging this job as well. What kinda rates should i charge for this job... hourly rate as well as mulch mark up??

TXNSLighting
04-11-2007, 01:18 PM
depeneds on what you pay for the mulch. i pay 20-25 a yard and charge 65/yd to install. i charge 55 an hour also. really the best way is to get you material cost and double it. thats a pretty good assumption.

PatriotLandscape
04-11-2007, 02:21 PM
really the best way is doubling your material cost?? No way

What is your overhead? Is it high low? how many hours do you work a week re-capturing your overhead?

I hate unit pricers they tell people poor information.

I have two mulch jobs that we did last week both 19 yards

job one wide open spaces it took 16 production hours 16*45 + 19*26 = 1214

job two flower beds and shrubs 24 production hours 24*45 + 19*26 = 1574

at 65 per yard I win job one and make money you win job two and lose 339

ALWAYS base your bids on how long it will take you to do a job not the GOING rate for anything.

onefast750
04-11-2007, 03:18 PM
so what u guys are saying is that if i get a yard for $25..then i should charge the person around $ 50 per yard plus my hourly rate?

Ecoscape01
04-11-2007, 03:43 PM