PDA

View Full Version : Student starting a business... am I doing this right??

EGLC
04-13-2007, 01:56 PM
I need some advice and feedback about my business plan. Im pretty much confused but i'm putting in alot of time and effort into this. Im a college student and since college usually ends during early April here, I decided that it's a perfect time to start and operate a residential aeration business during my break. I chose to do aeration since its an important service that most home owners just don't do since renting is expensive and an aerator is heavy. I will be doing this in Ontario in the Greater Toronto Area.

I used to work for a residential lawn aeration company and plan on having the same business structure. I plan on doing door to door sales while distributing flyers at the same time for people who aren't home and want to pre-book next time we service their area again. I will be working with 3 others that I plan on paying maybe 40% commission. Each person will be working on different routes in the area to be able to cover alot of ground in one day. I expect each person including me to service at least 6-12 lawns in a route in a day. So thats about 24-48 lawns serviced in total a day.

I will be renting 4 aerators during the first 2 weeks until i can afford to purchase 4 aerators. And I already own a trailer.

Also I would be charging at an average of $60 per lawn. And an average of $45 for the front only. Also Im thinking of offering fertilizer application for maybe an extra $10-$15 since their lawn just got aerated, but Im not sure if thats a good idea.

I don't know if this plan is good or not... also let me know if there's something i'm forgetting. Thanks in advance.

EGLC
04-14-2007, 02:06 PM
hello? anyone?

Young Lawn Boy
04-14-2007, 02:16 PM