PDA

View Full Version : how to put a value on an irrigation company

JB926
04-13-2007, 10:37 PM
ive been doing irrigation for 12 years at my familys buisness and this dec Im going to buy out my uncle. I will be purchasing 600 accounts, various machines, trailer, truck, etc. How do you put value on the non tangible things like the accounts. I dont care if its been said on here 1 million times. I want to know how would you put value on the 600 accounts????help:confused:

bicmudpuppy
04-14-2007, 01:15 AM
analyze those accounts. what is your current growth rate? did you have 600 accts last year? or the prev year? How many do you gain/lose every year. Hopefully the net is positive. 10-15% growth would be stable. More than that would imply a company still going through growing pains. Less than that would imply a stable market, but possibly some stagnation on the company part. If you say that growth is stable and want to value the customer base from that 600 number, then the "value" of those accounts is a multiplier of the profit gleaned from those accounts. You are an existing player in those accounts, so you should not have a transitional loss of accounts after the buy out. I would guess the multiplier at around 5. Is this "family" buisness 50/50 between you and your uncle at present? Perhaps a percentage of profit over the next 5 years and the buying out his share of the equipment would be acceptable.

Mjtrole
04-14-2007, 01:25 AM
ive been doing irrigation for 12 years at my familys buisness and this dec Im going to buy out my uncle. I will be purchasing 600 accounts, various machines, trailer, truck, etc. How do you put value on the non tangible things like the accounts. I dont care if its been said on here 1 million times. I want to know how would you put value on the 600 accounts????help:confused: