PDA

View Full Version : Don't know what to charge? Let me help.

tthomass
04-14-2007, 12:15 AM
I just replied to a post lending some helpful insight on this commonly asked question. First, I'm a professional landscaper, not an accountant but if you "burn this into your brain" you can make it through this season and into the next.

Example.
A) Question to remember: How much do I charge to put down 10 yards of mulch that costs me $20 per yard?

MONTHLY OVERHEAD EXAMPLE:
+Truck payment $1,000
+Insurances $1,000
+Wages $6,000
+Rent $1,000
+Gas and some other expenses that you CAN calculate $1,000
=$10,000
=$10,000 MONTHLY OVERHEAD PAYMENT

$10,000 MONTHLY OVERHEAD PAYMENT / 4 weeks = $2,500 per week OVERHEAD PAYMENT

$2,500 per week OVERHEAD PAYMENT / 5 business days = $500 per day OVERHEAD PAYMENT

So what we've got here is a need of $500 NET ( NET = $ after expenses ) per day just to cover operating expenses and break even.

Back to the mulch question. Costs $20 per yard and "what do I charge". Well if its plain old mulch I am around $90 per yard that leaves me $70 per yard to put towards my "$500 per day OVERHEAD PAYMENT". So 10 yards = $900 - $200 cost of mulch = $700 - "$500 per day OVERHEAD PAYMENT" = $200 profit for the day.

Did I break even there? Sure. I had a lady/tire kicker call me wanting 2 yards of mulch. I told her $500 over the phone as not to waste my time driving to her home and explained thats weeding, edging etc. She then asked how much if we don't do the edging etc, I said $500. Needless to say I did not hear back from her. Was there decent $, sure, but there is no such thing as a "quick" job. Its 1/2 day or full day after you do the running around and prep between jobs. Say I did the usual $90 per yard and instead of covering a 1/2 day "OVERHEAD PAYMENT" of $250 I come out with $140 after only the cost of mulch. I just paid her $110 for me to work..........no thanks, I just lost $.