PDA

View Full Version : My legs are on fire!

boozoo
08-01-2001, 04:42 PM
Today I mowed with my crews in a very big property neighborhood. After a couple of hours my legs started feeling uncomfortably tingly, like you feel when you're starting to sunburn (of course, by the time you feel that particular feeling, it's way too late). They started burning worse and worse until it was just TOO MUCH! Both my crew leaders said yeah, they had experienced the same thing this year, for more or less the first time, and they thought it was the dry grass clippings in the air (we use gator mulchers on our mid-mounts). I've been mowing for 15 years and I've never felt anything like this before! It's like a cross between sunburn and rubbing your legs with fiberglass insulation - yow! I went home and soaped my legs, and 30 minutes later they felt better, though still itchy. Anybody else ever get this? Any soutions? I'll be damned if I want my crews getting this again.

J. Bret Holder
08-01-2001, 05:06 PM
I've been there. I get it behind my knees really bad. Watch that you don't spread it by touching other areas after you have been scratching. It definitely sounds like the juices from grass clippings.

Calydryl Clear seems to clear it up and stop the itching.

Give it a shot. I hope this is the answer you needed.

:blob2:

awm
08-01-2001, 05:21 PM
i believe id check and see if they are using chemicals or something there.

Fantasy Lawns
08-01-2001, 06:43 PM
were you around some water or really wet grass ......when cutting did you see an unusual amount of small gnats .....

the no see ems will do that ....(gnat lava) ..... skin so soft helps prevent & than calamine after a good scrub with soap

MATTHEW
08-01-2001, 07:13 PM
Maybe you've got the chiggers!

boozoo
08-01-2001, 08:30 PM