PDA

View Full Version : Price help in CT

Frenchie
04-19-2007, 04:27 PM
This is my first year on my own and although I have years of doing the work I have little experience pricing. I did some homework and it seems some of the local companies that would talk to me charge anywhere from 45-65 an hour. There were alot of companies who wouldn't talk to me so I don't know how accurately this shows my market area.
I want to be competitive but I also don't want to overcharge. I figure I am on my own and I don't have a lot of overhead but I do have some so I aim at 35.00 an hour. When I tell people that is my rate they think I charge too much. I am finding myself picking up all the penny pinchers, All the fixed income elderly, and everyone else who can tell me a sad story and make me lower my rate to peanuts.
I already know that I am too sympathetic but do you guys think I am charging too much. I have equipment to repair, trucks to maintain, insurance, taxes,GAS etc....
Thanks
Frenchie

Allens LawnCare
04-19-2007, 04:52 PM
I work solo, I get $35-$40 hr for labor stuff.....Mulch between $65-$70 a yard delivered and spread....as far as lawns, never price by the hr. I go with a $20 min......Average around here is $35 for your average 5,000-7,000 sq ft lawn.......includes trimming and blowing off walks etc...........I shoot for $55-65 for an open acre.....hope this helps.....If your working in Bristol you can probably get more

supercuts
04-19-2007, 10:20 PM