PDA

View Full Version : how deep are the lines?

jdlawn
04-23-2007, 02:51 PM
i know that this will probably sound pretty stupid but i am creating a landscape bed around a power box. i have called and the utility guys are going to mark where the lines are. Basically all i am worried about is taking up the grass that is presently there. I was wondering how deep the power lines, gas lines etc. are. If i know then i won't worry as much seeing that it is my first time creating a landscape bed around a power box. Thanks in advance.

sheshovel
04-23-2007, 03:16 PM
You should be able to pull the grass up with no problem. I would not stick a shovel in deeper than 6" just to be safe. Remember, you have to leave space on all sides of the box for work/repair access room. Usually that space requirement is written right on the box.

JB1
04-23-2007, 03:31 PM
around here you never have to worry about electric or gas they are pretty deep, now phone and cable tv is barely under the sod.

Dirt Digger2
04-23-2007, 03:33 PM
they're atleast 3 feet down...the box extends about 2 1/2 feet below grade and the wires come out below that

Scag48
04-23-2007, 05:50 PM
The vault is usually 2X2 feet, maybe 3X3 at the most. Power, in most places, is required to be at least 36" deep. That's code here anyway and it must be in conduit. So, even if you found power, you'd hit red tape that should be 18" above the line, then you'd find the conduit it's in, so if you're using a shovel you'll be fine. Gas and anything else should be down just as far, phone is usually 18" and probably won't have conduit, but will probably have tape.

green horizons
04-23-2007, 07:30 PM
Try as I may, I have never hit a power or gas line. The phone and cable technicians eventually taught me to make simple repairs, if you get my drift. The freakin' cable company is ridiculous! I've cut cable lines removing sod with a straight edged shovel....ridiculous!

bishoplandscape
04-23-2007, 09:53 PM