PDA

View Full Version : Spreading Mulch

Paul Andrews
08-05-2001, 09:28 PM
I know I probably posted this in the wrong spot and that i should have put it in the landscaping forum but I needed a quick response. Anyways ...

I'm fairly new to landscaping (lawn mowing mostly) and I have a few questions to ask. When spreading out new mulch, do you guys clean out the old mulch and put in black landscapers' fabric for weed prevention before you spread the new mulch ? And what do you mean by edging the bed ? Thanks for your help

Evan528
08-05-2001, 09:35 PM
no, you do not have to remove the old mulch.... depending on what kind of mulch you are using most mulch wil partly decompose into soil over a years time. And landscape fabric for mulch...... dont do it!!!!!! Not only will it get in your way when ever you try to plants but it does no good at all!!! As the mulch on top of it decomposes weeds germinate in the mulch. "edging" is refering to using a spade or a dedicated bed edger machine to dig a agled trench towards the mulch. hope this helped a little!

dhicks
08-05-2001, 09:39 PM
It depends on the thickness of the old mulch. one and one half inch or less and I'll mulch over. If greater I'll remove the old mulch around trees. Too much mulch at the base of a tree will cause the roots to surface rather than go deeper into the soil during periods of droughts.

I don't use weed block but prefer Treflan as pre-emergent. If the customer insists on weed block, no problem. Edging the bed refers to a process using a bed edger or shovel to manicure the edge around the bed. I prefer the machine method.

Craig Turf Management
08-05-2001, 10:06 PM