PDA

View Full Version : hint of jealousy

Turfdoctor1
04-27-2007, 08:31 AM
I'm just getting started in this business after working on the golf course for several years and in turfgrass research for the past 4 years. I have a BS in turfgrass management and a MS in Horticulture. And, I am working very, very hard to build a customer base.

Yesterday I drove about 10 miles to a gated golf club community with about 200 houses. I have had one customer there for about a year, not a weed one. Driving down the main road, I count 15-20 houses in a row with ChemLawn signs. Every single house for several blocks on both sides.

I'm jealous. I want those houses. I wouldn't trash anyone for their success, whether it be agronomic success or just financial success. However, it is soooo frustrating to see others with few qualifications succeed when I know how hard it is going to be.

just a sob story for the day.

Runner
04-27-2007, 12:26 PM
You buy yourself a $1.75 notebook, and go back and write all these addresses down. you are at one advantage already (actually two). First, you have found perfect targets to market. Why - because they are already in an area that you do? NO. (even though that is a big plus). But because you have found people who you KNOW are already in the market for such a service. You know what to do from there.

TAZ
04-27-2007, 12:48 PM
I have to agree with runner there. Since you already have an example in their comunity a letter to them advertising your services should go a long way to getting your foot in the door.

It's kinda like the pretty girl that you see with some jerk. The jerk got her because he asked ;) ..... Most that can happen is that they don't call.

-TAZ

Nathan Robinson
04-27-2007, 02:11 PM