PDA

View Full Version : Hydroseeding Help Please!!

Venturewest
05-01-2007, 10:00 PM
I have done searches for just about everything I can think of related to hydromulching and hydroseeding. I have found alot of useful information, and I thank all of you for taking the time to post it.

I have a Turbo Turf jet agitated 500 gallon machine with a 13hp honda engine and 3x3 pump. I am just learning the business and have done about 4 acres so far.

So here is my question or problem. I can't seem to keep my hydromulch from washing out. I am using Jetspray 80/20 pellatized mulch with the poly fibers. Turbo Turf recommends 120 lbs in a 500 gallon tank. I am using 160 lbs, using 4 lbs of tackifier. I did 10,000 sq feet yesterday in 2 loads on about a 5 to 1 slope. We got about .75" of rain in several hours. Never a downpour, and alot of my work washed away. What am I doing wrong?? I feel like I don't have a product that I can guarantee to a client. Any suggestions? Should I try more mulch? Will my machine handle it? Is it typical that rain will wash it away?? Would maybe bales of paper mulch be better?

I really appreciate any help anyone can give. I am really hoping Muddstopper pitches in on this one.

Venturewest
05-01-2007, 10:08 PM
Hope I got the name right. Also is Ray with Turbo Turf still on Lawnsite?

Mike33
05-02-2007, 11:32 PM
I have a 500 gal. machine also im not sure about your mulch but i use 70-30 wood blend. Also profile tacking agent 3 about a 3lb. bag per tank. It should of held. make sure it is on heavy so you cant hardly see thru the soil. The mulch application is very important.
Mike

Venturewest
05-03-2007, 08:04 AM
Thanks Mike, I am using about 4 lbs profile tacking agent. Is your machine jet agitated? How many lbs of mulch are you using per tank load? I am exceeding all Turbo Turf's recommended rates and it still looks so thin on the ground after it dries and especially after it rains. How many sq ft are you spraying with one tank load? Thanks alot