PDA

View Full Version : Help with first big landscape job

Surferbum21
05-03-2007, 12:55 AM
I've been mowing for close to 10 years (ever since I was 15) and I just now got really big into it b/c I am graduating college and have realized the potential of how much money is to be made. I brought in 225 retaining brick walls and built a flowerbed 2 high with another inside of it 2 high. I brought in 18 yards of rich mix to fill that I used a bobcat (rental=$150 day) to fill in. It took quite a while to move around and level the dirt out though. How much would you guys charge in labor for this? And does anyone know the conversion of cu yards to tons?

PatriotLandscape
05-03-2007, 08:43 AM
You did all this work without a contract???? Uggg stay in school you have a lot to learn.

How many hours do you have into the job? what is your overhead?

Surferbum21
05-03-2007, 11:48 AM
it's a regular customer who I am in no worry about being paid. I just don't want to overcharge her but also don't want to undercharge. I have about $730 in overhead in the job. I was just trying to figure out how much to charge for moving and leveling the dirt and building the flowerbed. I've got about 20-22 hours on the job. Really all I was wanting to know is how much is a good price to charge per cubic yard of dirt to be moved. It only cost $20/yard and I had 18 total.

Fairway Land & Lawn
05-03-2007, 12:21 PM