PDA

View Full Version : Tearing out existing sod-bobcat or sod cutter?

bocefus78
05-03-2007, 12:35 PM
Hi all-Not exactly a homeowner but I'm not in the business either-

1st post-long time lurker. I have approx. 3900 sq. ft. of existing sod to remove, regrade, and reseed. I have never taken on a project this size. I have done around 800 sq. ft. with a shovel but it was HARD work. I have no experience with either of these machines. How much area can I assume to clear with an 18" sod cutter in 1 hour? Or would you reccomend getting a bobcat (my neighbor has one and I would pay him to run it) to remove the sod? Would the bobcat take a significant amount more soil than the sod cutter?

Another thought-I have used harley rakes behind pto tractors but never a bobcat. Can this piece of equipment be ran while in reverse to eliminate tire tracks/ruts? Thanks for your opinions in advance and please take it easy on the newbie! Any other hel is appreciated!

leejp
05-03-2007, 03:59 PM
Hi all-Not exactly a homeowner but I'm not in the business either-

1st post-long time lurker. I have approx. 3900 sq. ft. of existing sod to remove, regrade, and reseed. I have never taken on a project this size. I have done around 800 sq. ft.

Gaaak... The most I ever did was ~100sqft with a flat shovel and I don't think I would ever do it again. Around here we have rocks to deal with too.

What's wrong with round-up or some other vegetation killer, rake/regrade (Bobcat is nice if you have access to one), mushroom dirt and reseed.... But why do it now? Why not wait till Fall?

And if I was going through this much work, I'd spend a little $$$ and put in a sprinkler system.

bocefus78
05-03-2007, 04:16 PM
yea, that will be the LAST time I do this w/ a shovel. I am not planning on doing this until September just FYI. I am not doing this for me, it's for a neighbor. I am getting paid.