PDA

View Full Version : Pigtails....remote wiring question.


Mike Leary
05-03-2007, 03:15 PM
Hi Tails...Just finished putting spade lugs on one of your 24-zone pigtails.
I'm left with two wires.....black w/red stripe & white w/red stripe.
Any clue? I checked & double checked...have wired hundreds of these;
are you F......g with my (already) warped mind??? :dizzy:

CAPT Stream Rotar
05-03-2007, 04:38 PM
Textbook Callout here folks.....

nice work mike

what kind of strand is it?

Mike Leary
05-03-2007, 06:10 PM
Lets see if I can get this dohingie computor going.www.remotepigtails.com

Remote Pigtails
05-03-2007, 10:21 PM
Hi Tails...Just finished putting spade lugs on one of your 24-zone pigtails.
I'm left with two wires.....black w/red stripe & white w/red stripe.
Any clue? I checked & double checked...have wired hundreds of these;
are you F......g with my (already) warped mind??? :dizzy:

I'm one of 300,000 people without power in DFW from a storm so I'll go into more detail later. The wire bundle used to make the 24 station pigtail has 30 wires in it. The number actually needed is 27. Common, 24vac, master, and 24 more for the zones. So the bundle has three extra wires not attached to the connector. If you count the prongs on the plug in you will count 27. I'll post a wiring guide and pin guide for those that might want to make their own. I follow the same color guide as TRC/Rain Master. The only difference is that my common on the 12 station is red white instead of orange red and that is because their is no orange red available in the 15 strand wire we have access to. It should work fine if it doesn't call me and we will go into more detail on the phone. Hopefully I'll get my power back on soon.

Mike Leary
05-04-2007, 09:49 AM
Thanks Tails...That makes sense, but it had me going, not used to "spares",
mite think about cutting them back before sending them out so another fool
does'nt get confused.