PDA

View Full Version : Buying home w/ 4 acres. need mower advice

osu9400
05-04-2007, 01:45 PM
I'm new to owning this much land and am really worried about keeping it mowed. I don't enjoy mowing and have always paid a service to keep my small yard mowed.

What type of mower can help me get the job done quickly? I need to keep the price of the mower as low as possible.

The land is 4 acres, it is flat, and there are several obstacles like trees and fences. Several means there are more than a few but not wooded.

I guess the ideal mower would be a fast ZTR, but I don't know what the best value is. I found a 48" Husky ZTR for $2799, but I don't know how fast it is. Can I beat that price on another brand?

Thanks for your help.

1cooltreeguy
05-04-2007, 01:48 PM
With 4 acres go with a 72" and at the minimum 60" - commercial if u can afford it. Husky is not the best. You really do get what you pay for.

twj721
05-04-2007, 02:00 PM
round up works great

osu9400
05-04-2007, 02:11 PM
thanks for the reply. Which brand do you think offers the best value? I doubt I'll go commercial unless there is an outstanding value somewhere.

I also saw a Craftsman ZTR for about the same price. Is this better than Husky?

With 4 acres go with a 72" and at the minimum 60" - commercial if u can afford it. Husky is not the best. You really do get what you pay for.

twj721
05-04-2007, 02:23 PM
have you looked on this forum under this heading MEMBERS ONLY FREE Equipment & Parts Marketplace lots of good mowers for sale and most would be alot better than a Craftsman or Husky .look here and see what you might find good luck and yes ROUNDUP DOES WORK GREAT AROUND FENCES .Twj

osu9400
05-05-2007, 06:56 PM
What are your thoughts on this Troy? If I buy by Sunday I will get a $200 rebate. Keep in mind this is not for commercial use. This is for once a week mowing -- and I will probably only do the back half every other week.