PDA

View Full Version : Truck and Trailer regulations in Tennessee

Nature's Edge
05-04-2007, 05:03 PM
Let me start by saying I am very new to the commercial lawncare business. I have a few questions concerning truck and trailer regulations in TN. I currently advertise on both truck and trailer do I need commercial plates on both truck and trailer or just trailer? Is there a website I can find this on? Do I need cones, reflective tape, brakes etc? What about insurance for a small business? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

FYI I own a 6'x12' open trailer single axle if this makes a difference.

tnmtn
05-04-2007, 10:55 PM
first off insurance. you will want commercial insurance. make sure your agent knows you are using your truck commoercially and towing. you will also want insurance for your bussiness. in case you shoot a rock out from your mower and it hits a kid riding by on a bike. worst case scenerio but crazier things happen. definitly get insurance.
as far as plates, at a minimum you will need semi plates for your trailer. semi plates are more expensive but they don't expire. if the truck is in your name and not the bussiness name you can get away with non-commercial plates. if it is in the bussiness name get a plate rated for the weight of the truck and the heaviest trailer you may tow combined. you won't need DOT numbers since you are not crossing state borders to work. you will also need a bussiness license to get insurance. this will be good tax wise as well. also get a federal tax ID number. you can get by for a bit using your soc. sec.#. also you will need cones, reflective tape or anything else you can do for safety is a good idea. on the commercial license study page it will tell about the cones.
how are things in the boro? i went to 8th grade at central, lived on e. college st. loved it there. it was a much smaller town then.
good luck,

Nature's Edge
05-04-2007, 11:25 PM