PDA

View Full Version : Running Wire Across Lawns

ZX12R
05-09-2007, 10:57 PM
What is the best way to run wire across a lawn? I have only done a few installs so I am a novice.Anyway,on one job,I had to bury 10 AWG wire about 200' across a lawn.Cast makes a tool,almost like a spade that you hit into the ground with a sledgehammer,you ,then wiggle the tool back and forth and it spreads the ground apart.It worked fine,but,I am wondering what other methods some of you are using.Thanks for the replies in advance.

klkanders
05-10-2007, 12:06 AM
That method will work as well as jumping on a flat spade and spreading the ground apart, pushing wire in with a stick or piece of trim board then stamping sod back flat. I also have a brown bed edger that Im purchaing a 1/2" wide blade for. Making sure all utilities lines are marked is important also. Good Luck!

Pro-Scapes
05-10-2007, 12:58 AM
geez your not supposed to hit the trenching tool with a sledge your supposed to step on it or slam it into the ground then wiggle it. I find a shorty flat spade much faster. The kind with the D handle and it comes up to about your waist. kick it in at an angle and lift the turf. You should be around 6 inches this way. Then lay the turf back down and blow or rake and you will almost not even know someone was there.

Dreams To Designs
05-10-2007, 12:25 PM
A small trencher, puller or bed edger gets you down deep enough in tough soils, but for the easy going, a sharp spade and some wiggle.

Kirk

ChampionLS
05-10-2007, 01:22 PM
We use a EZ-Trencher for both Irrigation lines and LV wiring. Ours will go down 8-9" and can trench as fast as you can pull it. Brown makes a good one also.

Mr Priceless
05-10-2007, 01:26 PM
whatever you do, bury it. I chopped a coax cable mowing and it was pretty well nestled in ground (prolly the height of the grass bases)

Markf
05-10-2007, 10:46 PM