PDA

View Full Version : Malibu Transformer Installation

jkass636
05-15-2007, 02:14 PM
Hello I am new to landscape lighting and want to know if it ok to mount a malibu transformer(600watt) inside a garage attached to a home. The power pack or transformer get hot when on, I hear this is normal. The wattage is not exceded so everything is installed correctly. If this is typical what's the difference if I mount it inside the garage, malibu says it must be outside?? Anyone please help...Thanks

Chris J
05-15-2007, 02:48 PM
I don't touch the product because it is garbage. All I can tell you is that if they say to put it outside, you better put it outside. :hammerhead: You might also want to check your homeowners insurance policy and make sure your covered for loss due to self-inflicted fire hazards.

jkass636
05-15-2007, 07:02 PM
So do these tranformers get that hot to be classified as a "self-inflicted fire hazard"?? Why would you still want to mount it to the outside of the house. It could still burn it up. It sounds like it's "when", not "if" it will catch on fire. What other type of transformer would you reccomment?? I could still return the malibu one. I have 2 runs both 180 watt totals...so I need a transformer that can handle 360+ watts. Thanks

Pro-Scapes
05-15-2007, 10:05 PM
your missing another point. Your 2 runs and malibu only has a singluar 12v tap your going to possibly be left with half the voltage you should have at the last fixture.

Consider going with a proffesional model trans that has multi taps and seeking proffesional advice and design if you still want to do it yourself. If you are dead set on using the malibu yes mount it outside prefferably on a post off your home and surround by rocks in case it does go up in smoke.

Then split it into more than 2 runs to help ease the voltage drop since you will be lucky to get 10.5 to 11v out of the transfomer under load.

jkass636
05-15-2007, 10:20 PM