PDA

View Full Version : Hope you can help - general questions

abarickman
05-16-2007, 12:04 PM
Hey all,

I read the sticky posting at the top so I am not sure if anyone will be willing to help me but I sure hope so. Here goes!

I am a total novice doing landscape lighting on my house for the first time. I have no preference in lighting brand but don't want to break the bank unless it is justified. I plan to use low voltage throughout. I have selected some lights from Malibu's web site and want to make sure that what I am doing is going to make sense. My questions are:

#1 - I have two two story brick columns on either side of my front door which will have lights installed in a walkway below each to illuminate them. I am proposing these:

2 Lights set into the walkway to light the front columns - 2 X 35W
http://www.malibulights.com/index.php?action=subcategory&did=1&cid=2&sid=5&pid=195

Are these a proper choice? Since I dont know anything about this stuff I am not sure what wattage or type of lights to use for each situation. I assume I should use a flood for this location?

#2 - I have a short (36") urn fountain, medium size tree (12 ft tall and wispy) and a new tree going in (6 feet and wispy). I plan on this:

5 Spot Lights (copper finish) - 5 x 35w
1 - Water Feature
1 - New Tree on side of house
3 - Existing tree in yard
http://www.malibulights.com/index.php?action=subcategory&did=1&cid=2&sid=5&pid=203

It seems that 3 lights on the larger tree is overkill, I was going to surround it from all sides? Are these ok lights for the use I want to have? Can I adjust the brightness of the light on the urn since it will be close and shorter? Should I?

In addition to the lights listed above I also plan to put in three path lights which I don't really have any questions about. They are 3 x 60w.

#3 - How do I determine the size of the transformer? Is it that you should not present more that a 80% load or that you should not present less?