PDA

View Full Version : stupid install Q's

Mike M
05-16-2007, 10:05 PM
I live in an untapped market, so I don't think I can find a facility to rent a trencher made for lighting cable. I bought a "slammer" and have some nice shovels, but I can't imagine doing 200 feet of turf manually (recent request by a customer).

I need a trencher built for the job. This is a question I already posted a while ago, but again, what product is the way to go? I can invest some money, but I am just starting out.

Also, I pounded some 1 inch conduit under a sidewalk, but what exactly is the most efficient and professional way to do this? I was told an auger, but what kind?

Thanks in advance,

Mike

Oh yeah, does anyone out there sharpen their manual install tools?

High Performance Lighting
05-16-2007, 10:21 PM
Get yourself a nice heavy duty long flat blade garden spade and forget about the power tools. 200' is not that long . I have done 6 acre projects alone by myself with no power tools and with my trusty garden spade and hand trowel only. I'm working on two multi acreage properties right now . One for a very famous musician who'd you all know. Both of these are pre-wire during landscape construction jobs so some of the labor is saved by installing in sprinkler trenches if i'm lucky enough to be on the project the day the landscapers have the trenches open, the rest is all hand dug with trenching shovels and an occasional pick ax. I'm busting my ass out there and you are complaining over a 200' run. Really it's not that bad and it goes fast with a flat blade through turf grass. Get her down about 6". I don't know what kind of "slammer" you got but where I'm from that word has several different connotations none of which are pretty or suitable for this forum.

Chris J
05-17-2007, 12:17 AM
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :cool2:

extlights
05-17-2007, 12:45 AM