PDA

View Full Version : Tick Spraying?

sgoalie23
05-20-2007, 12:46 AM
I'm new to the tick spraying game and just had a few questions. First, what parts of the customer's property do you spray? Is it the areas where the turf meets wooded areas, the turf and wooded areas, and/or ornamentals? Also, as far as pricing, is by linear foot or sq ft? Last, which product have you found to work best for you? Don't forget I am in the Northeast, Connecticut.

Thanks in advance,

Brian

Yes I'm licensed S-5317, B-2370.

boats47
05-20-2007, 08:31 AM
Have you tried Damminex Tick Tubes? 24 tubes will cover you for about a 1/2 acre. It uses permethrin as its active ingredient, which is the same ingredient found in tick collars and sprays. You can charge pretty high for this product as well retail for a 1/2 acre is like $80.00.

Ric
05-20-2007, 10:13 AM
sgoalie23

First a question for you, Are Ticks a true insects???

Understanding the full life cycle of the pest we want to control is the First step. I am not going to retype what you can Google and read for yourself. In short like many Pests including Ticks like Cracks and crevice to hide their eggs and themselves. Structures have a lot of hidden spots for them. I would recommend a High volume spray of low AI insecticide to reach those Cracks and Crevices and spray at least 10 if not 15 ft high on any structure. The same with trees and ornamental plants. Flooding the area down will help get those hidden places where Ticks might be. 10 gallons per thousand is what I use and I mix the AI to that calibration also.

IMHO Fleas and Ticks are not pests of Turf Grass or Trees & Plants. Therefore I feel they should be controlled by real pest control companies, not lawn boys.

olive123
05-20-2007, 10:38 AM
ditto...what ric said.:clapping:

TurfProSTL
05-21-2007, 12:23 AM
Ric, we've been mixing Astro at the high rate and applying through our Permagreen. Think we're doing any good?

Ric
05-21-2007, 08:55 AM