PDA

View Full Version : Should I upgrade?

Lawnboy48195
05-28-2007, 11:02 PM
Hey guys, I have 20 residential accounts all between 1/8 acre to 1/4 acre and I am currently using 2 Honda HRX 21" mowers. I do this on the side (I work 40 hours in a chemical plant) so I just like to make extra money for spending on the kids, trips, whatever! My wife and I go out 2 - 3 times per week to cut and I would say its taking up around 10 hours of our time. Should I invest in a larger 32" mower or stick with what I have? I've been doing lawn cutting for the last 10 years and I really enjoy it and I don't see this ending anytime soon. Also, we are in Michigan and this spring it's been very rainy and I've had to double cut many of my customers lawns because they are just too long and my mowers can't give all of them a clean cut. Is this common with 21" mowers compared to a larger one? My blades are sharpened once per week and it's driving me crazy that on certain lawns I have to give a second cut because there are strips of shredded grass or the lawnmower simply can't cut 4-5" of grass down to 2 1/2 inches with one pass. Thanks for your help!

SSS 18734
05-28-2007, 11:06 PM
With twenty accounts? Yes. Absolutely.

You might have to double cut with a walkbehind as well, but you'll be able to double cut in the same amount of time it took you to cut it once with the 21". I use a 34" walkbehind and find myself double cutting a lot, especially in the spring. And as a bonus, you'll be significantly less tired, and the quality of cut will be significantly better than what you can get with any 21" mower.

Oh, also. 2.5 inches is sure low with that kind of growth (depends on the type of grass youre cutting though). But if its bluegrass or fescue, try cutting higher. You'll do less work, and the grass will grow more slowly.

Lawnboy48195
05-28-2007, 11:14 PM