PDA

View Full Version : Tach for a 2 cycle?


johnwon
05-31-2007, 01:50 PM
Hi; I'm would like to know if one of those tachs made for a single cylinder 4 stroke gas engine would work on a 2 cycle engine and read the proper RPM's?? Thanks

MarcSmith
05-31-2007, 02:25 PM
tiny tach.....http://www.propowerski.com/tach-big.jpg

johnwon
06-01-2007, 06:59 AM
Thanks for the info. But what I'd still like to know is, will a tach made for a single cylinder 4 stroke gas engine read the correct RPM's on a single cylinder 2 cycle engine??

MarcSmith
06-01-2007, 07:50 AM
no....most likely not....unless there is a switch on the back to change it from 4-2 stroke....Also depends on how the rpm info is fed into the tach as well...if it as being fed from the spark, then its going to receive a signal every ever other revolution for the 4 stroke and every revolution for the 2 stroke....

it would work but it wont read correctly....

pugs
06-01-2007, 10:59 AM
Depends on the 4 cycle engine. Not all 4 cycle engines produce spark in the same manner.

Most small air cooled 4 cycle engines produce a spark for every revolution of the flywheel similar to a 2cycle.

However some older 4 cycle's with points only sparked half as many times.

So it really depends on the engines you are comparing.

johnwon
06-02-2007, 07:48 AM
Thanks for the insight