PDA

View Full Version : New guy needs advice

SomervilleLawncare
06-03-2007, 01:16 AM
A little bit about myself before I ask any questions:

My name is Chris and I'm a certified teacher in Michigan. I graduated college a few years ago and cant find a teaching job, the teaching market in Michigan is completely saturated. My only other true love other than teaching is lawn care. I have 4 years experience in the lawn care industry while I was in college and am one of those guys who mows his yard 4 times a week. I have an awsome wife who is behind me 100% about the idea of starting a new career in lawn care. She has a great job that she loves which will provide stable income and insurance for us. We also live in a county that has a population of 500,000 people so there are pleanty of lawns to mow.

My Questions:

1. I have around $2000 that I would like to spend on a new/newer 36" walk behind, is this realistic or am I going to have to dish out more money?

2. What is the best marketing tool for finding residential properties?

3. How do you guys find out about commercial bids like banks or small businesses?

Thanks for any help you can give!
Chris

dcondon
06-03-2007, 08:34 AM
Welcome to Lawnsite:waving: :waving: Check out a Thread called Michigan LCO's because there are lots of guys from your area. They should be able to help you a little more on a mower and getting accounts. It's going to be different in your area compared to my area in mid-Mich. Good Luck

SLCINC
07-15-2007, 08:20 PM
Ive noticed when I first started out that flyering yourself is the best way and least expensive to get clientele. You should be able to find a decent used mower in that price range. You would also need to get a trailer, trimmer and a blower to start out. Good luck!

Leisure Time Lawn Care
07-15-2007, 09:18 PM
I agree, start out small and build from there, Remember thet we are just about half way into the mowing season.