PDA

View Full Version : professional way to ditch a customer

workinallthetime
06-03-2007, 12:35 PM
fellas,
i have a guy who is a total pain, doesnt pay on time, bi weeklly account,yard to small for my stuff ect.... i only took him on to help out when i was on that side of town. I have replaced him with a very high paying account in the same area that demands much more time and they pay cash. so whats the best way to ditch the guy?
I only have his work number and he doesnt mow on "his weeks" as i learned from you guys this is a bad situation but hey its my first year.
I want to ditch him, i didnt show up this week but it was raining off and on all week, next week im in mexico so i wont be there so should i just not show up or call his work number and tell him " sorry im not cutting your stuff anymore"?

oh and im solo and have worked out this week long vacation with no problems from my customers at all. of corse when i get back im going to work like a well you know

Lohse's Lawn Service
06-03-2007, 01:18 PM
Being new to the business, it's sometimes difficult to find the best, most professional way to drop a customer. But it can be done. There will always be those few customers who never will be satisfied with your work. Don't take it personally, either. If I were in your shoes, the way that I would do it:

"Sir, in order for me to continue mowing your lawn, there will have to be some changes. I will need to come once every 7-10 days, at least until the summer heat gets here and the grass doesn't grow as much. I can not keep doing the work when I have trouble getting paid. I would like to set aside a location at your home for you to lay out the money (in an envelope) on the day I am supposed to come mow, and if it's not there, then I will not mow the lawn. If in fact the money is not there and you wait 2 weeks for me to mow, then I will charge accordingly."

If he doesn't agree, fine. He can find someone else. You'll be better off.