PDA

View Full Version : Need help in bidding lawn Jobs.

glicious
06-03-2007, 03:58 PM
I am fairly new to the lawn care business. Is there a general guideline on how to bid commercial and/or residential lawns.

I read several other threads but they seemed to depend on several different items such as how many man hours or a specific size of mower.

I am looking for something such as how much to charge per 1000 sq/ft regardless of the type of equip. used (I know that a 21" mower will take longer than a rider or larger walk behind but I will have to bid against all).

I am also assuming a fairly flat surface with not too many obstacles. Although I would also be interested if anyone has formulas or ideas for slopes or if there are more than average tree or sign posts on the property.

I am from Minnesota but am looking for input from anyone.

Thanks in Advance

G

Stuttering Stan
06-03-2007, 09:42 PM
After a few years in the biz you will learn what you have to charge. I walk over the property, estimating how long it will take to cut, how much trimmer work is involved, how much blower work, and weed spraying (if applicable). Just estimate and learn from your mistakes.

Grits
06-03-2007, 09:56 PM
My average lawn is $40. These are usually regular sized yard, less than a 1/4 acre.
You need to figure out about how much it cost to run your business per minute. Then factor in a percentage for growth (I factor in at least 15%, but have gotten as much as 50% on landscape jobs).
If you are only using a 21", then you should specialize in very small, postage stamp lawns. I don't think you could compete with the bigger mowers on anything bigger than 1/4 acre.
There is definitely a fine line for pricing mowing jobs. You have to charge enough to be profitable, yet charge something that a homeowner is willing to pay.
You also need to find out what the going rate is in your market area.