PDA

View Full Version : A little math help please

Bamafire1
06-03-2007, 10:55 PM
Gentlemen,

As I have stated in a couple of recent posts, I am new in the business (I know, there seems to be a new one of us on the board everyday, haha) and I am currently in the process of getting licensed in TN and have a lot to learn.

I need a little help calculating what my costs would be for an application per 1000 sq. ft.. I will try to keep this as brief as possible. I will use a Simazine application as an example. The 2.5 gal jug costs $68. According to the label, the jug will cover 5 acres and 2 qts will cover 1 acre. It also says use at least 15 gal of water with the 2 qts. After all of this finally to the question. How much will it cost me to apply per 1000 sq. ft.? I came up with about 32 cents per 1000 sq ft. Is this right or am I just a waterhead?

Also, around here a average pricing scheme for a lawn program is $17.50 per 1000 sq ft divided by 7 applications. So, a half acre lot would be $381.15 or $55 per application. What are your opinions?

I apologize for the lengthy post and obvious rookie question.

Thanks for your help.

tremor
06-03-2007, 11:15 PM
5 acres = 217,800 sq ft....$68/217.8 = $.31/M so you are pretty close.

A half acre is 22,000 sq ft so 22 x $.31 = $6.87 cost.

I really cannot speak to the local pricing in TN but the prices you have would be considered too low for around here.

Ric
06-04-2007, 12:07 PM
Bamafire1

The way Chemical prices are changing everyday I find it is much easier and faster to set an Excel spread sheet to find the cost per thousand of each Product I use from Fert to Pesticide. Each time the price of a product changes, I only need to enter the current price and Excel spits out my cost per thousand, and Per Acre of both high and low rate that I might use. If Excel is set up correctly the cost factors will be correct every time. You must of course set each product up separately because of the rate you apply them.