PDA

View Full Version : What could cause streaks in lawns

GreenHor7
06-04-2007, 07:25 PM
I am new to the business and i was wondering why about three of my lawns have streaks in them. They are browned out streaks. I applied dimension correctly based on the label and lesco. It has been very dry though. I am looking for some help.

mkroher
06-04-2007, 07:55 PM
brown patch spread from mower tires? How about some pics?

indyturf
06-04-2007, 07:56 PM
hard to tell without pictures, was it liquid or granular? I wouldn't think dimension would cause brown streaks. were you applying fert too? how much N?

topsites
06-04-2007, 08:00 PM
It could be any number of reasons, thou the cut and the landscape are the first things that come to mind, the irrigation system as well, could be the chem app, you have to look into it to figure it out...

Keep in mind, you have two types of stress results: Systematic, and what I call natural.
I'm not sure if those are the correct terms, but a systematic stress area is usually created by a machine or a system, whereas a natural stress area is more likely due to circumstances more or less beyond our control.

If it's the cut, it's likely to do with perhaps uneven landscaping resulting in the machine cutting too close over certain sections... Machine cutting does create systematic stress, it could also be the pattern itself, usually raising the blades 1/4" can help in this case, it is also that time of the year where I have already delayed, and am further delaying my cuts, we're going to 2 week intervals, and soon 2-3...