PDA

View Full Version : Help with Tecumseh HS40 linkage setting

Budgetguy
06-05-2007, 10:03 PM
Hello,

I am a novice home repair guy. I had left gas in the carb and it gunked up. Cleaned and installed the rebuild parts and it now starts great. HOWEVER....

I took the linkage on the HS40-55580K engine off and now it runs wide open. I need help placing the spring in the correct lever hole and the solid connector from the lever to the throttle. I have read numerous forums and websites but cannot find anything on accomplishing this for a HS40 tiller engine.

Please help identify which holes to use in :
1. Hole in the lever to connect the spring to
2. Hole in the lever to connect the solid connector (from the throttle)
3. Hole in the throttle to connect the solid connector (from the lever)
4. How to position the govener clamp when tightening the lever (or proper steps to follow).

Any help anyone can provide will be much appreciated... Thanks..:cry:

Restrorob
06-05-2007, 10:50 PM
How about a Service Manual link ?

http://toprake.com/index.php?module=documents&JAS_DocumentManager_op=viewDocument&JAS_Document_id=2

Right click "Download" then click "Save Target As".... To down-load and save to your computer.

Good Luck

Budgetguy
06-05-2007, 11:47 PM
Thanks for the manual; I actually already had downloaded one and used it to try to adjust the linkage. There are all kinds of holes in the linkage and I cannot identify which to hook everything up to ( i cannot tell by looking at scratches).

Is there a standard setting for the hookups for this engine on a Troybuilt?:dizzy:

pugs
06-06-2007, 03:29 PM
LOL...good luck. Up at the Tecumseh school they told us dont bother calling them asking what hole to put stuff in because they dont keep records of that.

Basically you need to make a drawing before taking it apart or you are SOL and get to guess.

Restrorob
06-06-2007, 06:37 PM