PDA

View Full Version : par 36 xenon/halogen

David Gretzmier
06-06-2007, 01:27 AM
I did a bid today for a current Christmas light customer who has an installed Focus lighting system. It is 3 years old, and he has never replaced a bulb, but recently 6 have went out.

He is real happy with the system, and I have no experience with Focus, but the fixtures seem to be sturdy and well built, provide light without seeing the source, and further it is not in his budget to replace it, so I just agreed to rebulb all the fixtures, trim bushes around them, re set the angles etc, like we do for our yearly rebulbs.

I have not used par 36 well lights in a while, and noticed they have xenon/halogen 5000 hour bulbs now, and was wandering if you guys have tried those.

I know I'd rather do a mr-16 well light, but he already said no, just rebulb.

any negatives? I am thinking 20 watt floods to replace the 20 watters he already has.

Go Halogen
06-06-2007, 08:22 AM
They are better than the incandescent version. They cost a lot more when compared to mr16 lamps. When purchasing lamps, try to buy well known brands like GE, Ushio, Sylvania. There are a lot of no name brands made in China & Taiwan that will not give you proper lamp life. Prism Brand is one that I am testing out right now. If anyone uses this Brand please give feedback. :confused:

Chris J
06-06-2007, 08:42 AM
A long time ago, I believe I used Prism 3156 wedge base lamps. I had some failures, and ultimately blamed the lamp and stopped using Prism altogeter. In hindsight, I don't believe it was necessarily the manufacturer in this case. As mentioned in an earlier post, wedge base 3156 lamps can be a pain in the butt, and we continue to have problems with them no matter what manufacturer we use. I would give Prism another try if I see that others have had some good results. I have had very good results with the Osram Sylvania products.

Mike M
06-06-2007, 11:40 AM
David;