PDA

View Full Version : An introduction !

NCLCRB #1370
06-06-2007, 07:42 PM
I know there is a forum for intro's, however, since this is the place where I will be posting the most often...
Hello! I'm new to this board, so I wanted to introduce myself. I am a high school landscape horticulture teacher and have been so for 11 years. I hold a B.S. and M.S. in Agricultural Education and Horticultural Science and I am National Board Certified to teach in my subject area. I am a NC registered landscape contractor, NC certified plant professional and I am a licensed pesticide applicator. I have been in business for 10 years and I have a total of 20 years experience. I am also insured. Several years ago, I decided to downsize to where I could manage things alone ( my son was younger then). At that time, I was running two crews of three. However, I only had 15 lawn maintenance accounts. We mostly did landscaping. I still work on my own. I use sub-contractors often and SOMETIMES have one or two of my students help me put out mulch or do something small ( my accountant calls it "day labor").
Over the years, I have come to a simple conclusion. It's not how much you do, it's how well you do it. I still do my own maintenance accounts (only 5). These 5 generate more than another teacher's salary per month. My students always want to know how to make good money without a lot of accounts. The answers is: Make your customer feel like they are the first on your list- BECAUSE THEY ARE! Take time to answer questions and communicate with your clients. The money will follow. As far as lanscaping, I design using Dynascape and Photoscape software and print them out on a HP Designjet 500. I use insured subs for jobs out of my equipment range.