PDA

View Full Version : You have a meeting with customer that is worth 10k what do you say?

cod8825
06-11-2007, 12:16 AM
The title is pretty much the question for the pros please. I have posted questions relating to this topic. I am doing bidding for the business and I am not an expert by any mean on the finer points to prospecting for new clients. I came from the insurance field and I did the winning and dinning approach. Sit down with customer find out what they want and give that to them. The clients that I am going after will probably have 50 or so LCO's submitting a bid how do I differniate us from the competition.

What do you say to the manager to make them go WOW I think they might do a great job on our property. I am going to try the idea someone suggested the five year improvement plan. What do I say to get them to give me ideas on improving their property to do this and land the client.

Thanks you guys are great for help!
Matt

topsites
06-11-2007, 01:01 AM
This has just been my experience as an owner, it is a whole different ballgame when compared to working as someone else's salesman. For one, I'm selling my own services and product, I have nobody but myself who backs me up with that, not like some 20-year old established company behind me is churning out this great stuff I can just sell.

So first I have to do a good job, then my services sell themselves.
Talk is cheap, if I sell talk then my work is cheap.

If I sell Rolls Royces, it is not a problem.
If I sell VW's, it is still not a problem.
But if I make the car and I have to sell it, then first I have to make the car, then see about selling it.
Better yet wait until someone asks, go make more in the meantime, and make them better.

Only once I have made 1,000 cars in a row can I even dare dream of selling a car that I have not made yet.
And only if I am 100% certain that I can turn out car 1,001 as good as the first 1,000.

So, go cut 1,000 lawns, or hire someone to do it for you, either way.