PDA

View Full Version : PLEASE help with bid!!!

BlueShieldLawnCare
06-13-2007, 01:28 PM
Hi! I'm pretty new to the site, but we've been in business for 2 years. Do decently, have about 8 regular customers on weekly/ bi weekly schedules, and a few other bids that we're working on. I do this on the side, as I'm a cop, and that takes a lot of time! My wife and I started this as a side business, and so I have something to do when I retire. ANYWAY, here's the deal: A residential treatment center contacted us and asked us to do 2 bids. 1: to clear the property and put out pinestraw. And 2. on how much we would charge to maintain the property. We'll deal with the first bid to begin with. This property is about 2 1/2 - 3 acres, and it has not been maintained at ALL. Multiple flower beds over run with weeds, trees that have to be trimmed, a ton of bushes that need to be cut back and shaped, leaves from last fall that we need to clear out, ect. So I decided we should do it in 3 stages. Stage 1 would be cutting back and shaping the bushes, trimming the trees, and weedeating/ clearing out the flower beds. We figure that will be 1 8-hour day, with 4 people working. Stage 2 would be mowing, blowing, edging, ect. Pretty much cleaning up the rest of the property. Which we figure would also be an 8 hour day with 4 people. That might be high, but we figure we can finish up stage 1 if that runs over a little. Stage 3 would be putting out the pinestraw. That's where it gets REALLY complicated. There are several buildings on this property, and flowerbeds running on each side of them, as well as random flowerbeds throughout the property. Also, we will have to put pinestraw around almost all of the trees, and I'd say there's close to 80 of them. We are estimating 2 days of 8 hours each for this stage. So, we are estimating 400, yes, that's 400 bales of pinestraw. We can get them at $3.75 a bale, but we always charge $5 per bale. So, just for the pinestraw, we're talking $2000. Adding in