PDA

View Full Version : trimmer operation speed....

sdm1976
06-15-2007, 01:46 PM
I am new to the business and have never owned any commercial equipemnt until now. This question may have been kicked around a hundred times and could be a worn out topic,but do you have to run a trimmer at full throttle to increase the life of the engine? I have heard to run it full tilt or it will foul the plug. thanks for any info

Grits
06-15-2007, 01:54 PM
They are made to run at full throttle, but running at such a high speed is silly most of the time. I tend to run mine at about half throttle in most situations. Sometimes I run at full throttle if there is a decent sized area of grass that was unable to be reached with a mower.

johndeerefan
06-15-2007, 03:46 PM
They are made to run at full throttle, but running at such a high speed is silly most of the time. I tend to run mine at about half throttle in most situations. Sometimes I run at full throttle if there is a decent sized area of grass that was unable to be reached with a mower.

yep same with me

coonman
06-15-2007, 04:15 PM

Same here. My Redmax is going on its 4th season. Don't worry about it.

sweatyclippingcoveredguy
06-15-2007, 04:51 PM
Anywhere there is a possiblility to throw stones or damage something I keep it low. Otherwise, full speed ahead.

lawnmaniac883
06-15-2007, 07:32 PM
Only use enough throttle to get the job done. Saves gas and trimmer line. I run it at wot when I need to but usually half throttle does it.

lawnspecialties
06-15-2007, 08:13 PM
I also run mine at around half-throttle. Trimmer line is so far advanced in design, it cuts easily without needing tremendous speed.