PDA

View Full Version : Am I the idiot?

canopy2k
06-18-2007, 04:16 AM
Quoted a guy I know for doing his yard. About 1/2 acre with LOTS of shrubs, etc and LOTS of sidewalks that need edging. Told him $50 per visit, with weekly service. He says good deal! Lets get started! The night before I plan to go to his house to start service, I get an email from him asking if it really needs to be done once per week. Could I do it bi-weekly? I told him yes, I can do that. However, its going to cost $75 per visit. You can see the explanation in the quote below. He comes back with this.... Am I being stupid or is he? Im new to this, and I gotta say, Im not so sure I want to cut his yard even if we do come to an agreement....

c2k,
This is what made me change my mind....
I can do bi-weekly, but the rate would change to $75 per cut. When I submit a proposal to a client (Written) for just say 35 hours at 85/per hour and if they decide they need less hours I don't ever tell them, well since it is lower hours I am going to have to charge you 120.00.

Also this was not at all a money issue. Yes, after a hand shake I consider it a deal but once I got the price change it didn't feel right.

D

whether you want it weekly or not is your call. I can do bi-weekly, but the rate would change to $75 per cut. Weekly maintenance is best, it keeps the grass the healthiest, and is easier to maintain. Going to bi-weekly lets the grass and edging get longer, therefore taking more time, and creating more clippings to get rid of, which is why the extra cost.

Ill do it either way you want it though.

B

sheshovel
06-18-2007, 04:57 AM
He changed that deal after the handshake did he not? You are in the right here and he knows damn well you are. He is playing you don't fall for it.

bohiaa
06-18-2007, 09:19 AM
this is just the way they will do you....