PDA

View Full Version : Insurance

NYLAWNMAN01
06-24-2007, 12:19 AM
Hey guys I want your opinion on Insurance...I am sure I am going to get different responses but I want to see what you guys think... Here it is : Since I am just starting out and wanting to do this business the right way would you get insurance for the first year since i am going to be doing this part time at first and dont know how many lawns I will end up? Would you wait till you had some money saved up first then get insurance. Licensing I am going to do right away, but insurance I dont know about yet. How many lawns would you have first before getting insurance?? Thanks Matt

Also are any of you guys also bonded and is it needed

cranium2001
06-24-2007, 12:30 AM
I live in western NY and have $1 million in liability for around $700 per year through ERIE Insurance. If you break that down it equals around $13.00 a week (52 weeks obviously). That's less than one lawn a week. You will sleep better at night knowing you have insurance and if you break a window or something unfortunate like that that $700 will seem cheap. I imagine the rates may be a little higher near the city but I couldn't tell you for sure. It's a no brainer to get it in my opinion. Good luck.

NYLAWNMAN01
06-24-2007, 01:23 PM
anyone else???

KTO Enterprises
06-24-2007, 02:48 PM
550 per year for a million from the hartford. Well worth having.

echeandia
06-24-2007, 09:38 PM
I also use Erie. My policy cost me $527 for $1MM in liability coverage plus coverage for my equipment and truck.

mattfromNY
06-24-2007, 10:10 PM
Accidents happen... Do you have enough to cover ANY accident that will/could happen tommorrow?? I've broken windows, dropped branches onto roofs, thrown rocks, pine cones and childrens toys out my mower chutes at a million miles per hour, etc... nothing very damaging, or needing to turn in a claim on yet, but it is definately better to know I have the insurance!