PDA

View Full Version : So what is the best full size tuck to buy? Ford, Dodge, Chevy or Toyota?

Exact Rototilling
06-24-2007, 03:54 AM
This is my first year Rototilling and I'm picking up a few mowing clients. I have a mid 80's Toyota Extra Cab, yes I bought it new, that is adequate for a small trailer and my tillers plus other tools but will not work if I get a bigger mower. If I can accumulate enough clients this year I will attempt to make the jump to more productive mowing equipment next year thus the need for a bigger trailer and a bigger truck.

There is a possibility I may go the route of a commercial fire wood business however that will not happen for a few years if at all. I'm still researching this and I'm not sure if it's profitable to do it above the radar. Most people up here fly under the radar. Not sure if I want to compete with that.

So what is the best full size tuck to buy? Ford, Dodge, Chevy or Toyota? Half ton, 3/4 ton 1 ton? What year or generation is best? I will also want to use it for snow plowing. Diesel or gas? I'm looking for the sweet spot of value, performance and long term operational expense since I don't part with my vehicles very often. I also would like a crew cab but I'm open to being talked out of it for valid reasons.
:waving:

2 clowns mowing
06-24-2007, 07:54 AM
anything will work, just get good warranty with it

Frosty03
06-24-2007, 08:23 AM
Get you one of those hybrid vehicles.

Try a: FoDoChota.

Good trucks, parts are a beotch though.

Get what you like, they are all good. I have Chevys for my personal and work trucks.

Lynden-Jeff
06-24-2007, 09:13 AM
Diesel 2500 dodge!!!!!!

Lynden-Jeff
06-24-2007, 09:15 AM
Also noticed you want it for plowing after I posted. Some will disagree but chevy and toyota are crap for plowing. The suspension on chevys is apparently not up to par for a heavy plow and ive seen many toyotas (can't speak for the newest ones) ruined by plows. Both fords and dodges are tanks for plowing.

Cheers