PDA

View Full Version : Best machine to use for leveling, pavers, stone

greatlawns
06-26-2007, 05:45 PM
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to hardscaping, so I just wanted to get some opinions on the best equipment to use for clearing/leveling areas. I only want to get one machine and wanted to get input so I don't make a mistake. There's been times that I've bought equipment only to find that I could/should have gotten something different, had I had the experience to know better.

For this general purpose (plus the occasional big mulch job, re-grading a lawn, moving stone around, etc) would you recommend a skid steer or something like a compact Kubota front end loader to get the job done best? I am looking to get the most versatile all-around machine that has the most uses. Both have their pros and cons so I'm asking the experts.

What do you all think?

mrusk
06-26-2007, 06:47 PM
Get a skid steer and never look back. If you ever need to do alot of excavating for a wall or something, just sub it out.

kreft
06-26-2007, 07:31 PM
Skidsteer!!!!!!!!!tons Of Attachments To Get The Job Done!

waltero
06-26-2007, 09:13 PM
The problem with hardscaping is that all of the pallets are very heavy. If you get a machine it should be the largest one that you can afford. You will have to be able to excavate the area be it a patio, walkway, wall, or anything else. bring all the materials in and move the pallets around.