PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!! how to do mulch

stephenslawncare
06-29-2007, 01:10 AM
okay a few days ago a customer asked about having mulch put down and i said okay because business is slow during these dry weeks. but the thing is i have never done mulch before. I have a few questions

1. How much area does a cubic yard of mulch cover (square feet aprox.)

2. How thick do i spread the mulch (i will be mulching around small trees, some small to medium size bushes, and a flower garden)

3. Do i charge by the yard installed or mark up the the price on the mulch a bit and charge my hourly rate.

4. to get mulch delivered, where should i look in the yellow pages under?

I know these questions are kind of vague but please help me. I am going to have the mulch delivered to the property because i am not old enough for a drivers licence.

mcwlandscaping
06-29-2007, 02:24 AM
in the yellow pages, look under landscaping and I'm sure a few of the places will say they sell bulk mulch. However, if you find a yard near you, go there and ask about contractor pricing. This will allow you to do a better markup on the materials.

Around here, mulch is spread from 2.5 to 3.5 inches thick
I personally charge per installed yard, that's just how i figure things, that's not how it shows up on the estimate or invoice though as i'll add more money to it if it's going to be a pita job or there is a lot of edging involved.
hope that helps a little......ohh, and i hope you aren't just spreading mulch, i hope you are prepping for it correctly as well by weeding out the beds, cleaning them out and putting a nice edge on them as well for a professional end result

-mike-

fiveoboy01
06-29-2007, 03:31 AM
okay a few days ago a customer asked about having mulch put down and i said okay because business is slow during these dry weeks. but the thing is i have never done mulch before. I have a few questions

1. How much area does a cubic yard of mulch cover (square feet aprox.)