PDA

View Full Version : Slightly stumped on mulch pricing...

fiveoboy01
06-30-2007, 12:28 AM
Well not really stumped, but let me explain.

I've been buying my mulch from a supplier about a mile out of town. I know the owner well, he also owns an LCO operaton.

Well out of coincidence, a co-worker at my full time job mentioned to me that his father-in-law manufactures mulch and supplies a lot of landscapers in the area, and he's about 8 or 9 miles further down the road from my current supplier.

So I call this guy, tell him I work with his son-in-law and that I'm a contractor, and would like pricing. For no reason, I mentioned where I currently get my mulch from.

Turns out, this guy supplies my current provider with his mulch.

If I buy directly from this guy I will save about 9 bucks a yard on mulch. And I know it's the exact same product.

Anyways that's not my dillemma. I'm in essence cutting out a middle man, and don't feel bad about it. It's a business decision and hopefully will not be taken personally. Here lies the slight dillemma...

I have 2 options:

A) Do NOT pass the savings onto the customer and profit more.

B) Slightly reduce my installed price by 3 or 4 dollars a yard in an attempt to close more installs. Hence still making more than I was per yard with the "old" price of material.

Now I know a lot of you will say I'm nuts for even asking this, and I think I might agree. But it's just something I thought of. I am really leaning towards option A, but just want to hear your input. There IS something to be said for possibly closing 15-20% more proposals, and at the same time making more profit than before(per install) even with the slightly reduced price.

Flame away guys:laugh:

stephenslawncare
06-30-2007, 12:55 AM