PDA

View Full Version : Is this really for me? Is it worth it, after its all said and done?

TCossuto
07-01-2007, 07:47 PM
I'm going to be a senior in highschool this year, I've been mowing for about 4 years, and this year I decided to go big. I bought a 52 inch walk behind, backpack blower, new edger, truck, trailer, trimmers, etc. It's good quick easy money. I make 3x more than anyone my age I know, and I work 1/10th of the hours... if that.

The question is, is it really worth my time/effort to REALLY build this business? I buy and sell cars so capital is never really a problem. I'm thinking about investing ALOT this next season. You guys with alot of expierence.... is it worth it? Is it reasonable that I could 2-3 different crews, a manager, and not really have to do anything within a few years?

I want to PROFIT (not gross) atleast 25k the first year, and an additional 10k each year after. Is this doable?

sheshovel
07-01-2007, 07:50 PM
No it is not reasonable to think you can run a business without doing anything within a few years. When you run your own business you work harder than anyone else and you do that all the time. No such thing as not doing anything when you run a business period.

charmill26
07-01-2007, 07:51 PM
im new as well but the only thing i can comment on is that i doubt you could not have to do anything. there will always be stuff to do that a manager may not be able to.

mattfromNY
07-01-2007, 08:04 PM
I would say that the profit part may be obtainable, But as far as doing nothing, you still need to manage your managers, and all other aspects of the business. Any successful small business owner I know works more hours than the normal working man/ woman.

Grits
07-01-2007, 10:34 PM
You may not be out on a mower, but you will still be working. But I think it is very doable. I say go for it.

sancho_man_orlando
07-02-2007, 12:03 AM
Old saying: "The LESS I DO, the MORE I MAKE!"

Step 1. Oursource or hire
Step 2. Manage