PDA

View Full Version : Honda HR214

hr214_boy
07-02-2007, 07:39 PM
I have a self propelled Honda HR214 mower. When I engage the self propel, it hesitates for a few seconds. What could this be? I replaced the belt. If it is a problem with the tranny, could I fix it?

Restrorob
07-02-2007, 08:16 PM
Pull the rear wheels and check the ratchet assemblies, They could be sticking from grass/dirt build-up.

hr214_boy
07-03-2007, 01:35 PM
Ratchet assemblies? Sorry, i'm a newbie. I do have mechanical experience, but I don't know what ratchet assemblies are. THANKS!

Bill Kapaun
07-03-2007, 04:13 PM
Is this an HR-214 or an HRA-214?

Restrorob
07-03-2007, 04:41 PM
Bill, On my parts break-down the drive/wheel components are the same on HR-194/HR-214 and HRA-214 ......

#1 is called a Ratchet, A hub with two dogs and a spring ring.

http://i107.photobucket.com/albums/m314/Restrorob/Honda214WheelAssy.jpg

hr214_boy
07-05-2007, 10:56 PM
OK, well I actually don't have it, I'm looking to buy it. I didn't experience the tranny problem until today. When the self propel is engaged, the mower lightly "jerks" and you hear a "click, click, click...". When you start to push the mower, the self propel finally takes over and works mostly fine. ALSO: When the mower is first started up, it smokes blue smoke, and surges for 10 seconds. After about 10 seconds, the surging stops and it smokes lightly. When I engage the blade, it stops smoking! What's the problem? Rings? Valve seals? Carb adjustment? Is this mower worth buying? He's asking $45, but with these problems, $35 seems better... Thanks!

Restrorob
07-05-2007, 11:03 PM
Could be all the above mentioned, Move on and find something else.

Bill Kapaun
07-06-2007, 01:42 AM
A few seconds of start up smoke is very common on these mowers.
Mine has been doing it since it was 3-4 years old, or about 15 years. Keeping the oil about 1/16" below the full mark seems to alleviate most of that.