PDA

View Full Version : Does a LLC offer any real world advantage over other business models?

Exact Rototilling
07-03-2007, 11:26 PM
I have a non Lawn Care home based business I've had since 1998. Just started Exact Rototilling this spring but I wondering what real world benefit LLC has over other business types or models? I would also like to combine multiple catchy Slogan Company names under one banner if possible for the following:

Rototilling
Mowing
Pressure Washing
Snow plowing and removal
Firewood
etc.

Thanks for the input
:waving:

john_incircuit
07-04-2007, 10:27 AM
When I started the business, I used to think that doing a variety of jobs will increase the chance that I get plenty of work. Actually, the opposite is true. Specialize and be the best at it.

About LLC, I'm not a lawyer or accountant, but from what I understand, it for sure has tax advantages, but Iím not so sure on how well in court the separation between your private money and the business money really holds up.

txgrassguy
07-04-2007, 08:08 PM
The primary differences between LLC's and different types of Incorporation's has to do with separate read personal property protection versus that of the business.
However, a Sole Proprietorship has many more tax advantages over that of these LLc's and Incorporations as the IRS reg's allow for more deductions and the returns are scrutinized much less closely than others - up to a certain amount.
One additional difference between Sole Props and other forms is as a Sole Prop you become the personal guarantor for business related debt whereas the Articles of Incorporation and assets contained therein become the guarantor.
Depending upon size (gross revenue) there are many benefits to structuring a business through Articles of Incorporation.
Currently my business is still a Sole Prop yet with gross revenue approaching $1M/annum I have been advised to incorporate - as to what structure I haven't decided upon yet.

TSG
07-04-2007, 08:24 PM