PDA

View Full Version : Another "tires causing damage story"

FIRESCOOBY
07-11-2007, 01:26 PM
I have this account that is among several in my neighborhood. This older couple bought the house this spring, and I have been doing it for about 2 months.

The previous owner had new Fescue Sod installed about 3 years ago, used a treatment company, had an irrigation system installed and USED it.

I got a call on July 3rd from the new owner. He said he had these "atrocious" lines in his yard. The house is past mine, and I never go by it unless cutting his yard. I told him it's probably "stripes", but I'll come look at it. When I pulled up...he was right...TIRE TRACKS...and it looked HORRIBLE!!!

I got out and was very humble and embarrassed. We started talking and I was apologizing and telling him that it is not "dead", but it does look bad. I asked him if he was running the irrigation system on the days allowed with the water ban. He was previously after I set it up for him. He said "No, it rained last week so I turned the system off...plus it's so expensive". So...it rained the end of June VERY hard and only for about 30 minutes. Other than that, it's had no water. I told him he needed to leave it running unless we get significant rainfall for a few days.

As I was leaving, I noticed a large burn swath. I looked a little closer and noticed granular fertilizer on the ground. I asked him if he spilled some fertilizer there and he said "Hmmm, my son-in-law must have. I asked did he spill it anywhere else. He said..."I'm not sure, he put it on the yard this past weekend when he came up". I was kind of in shock. Apparently he came up over the weekend and noticed the yard was not looking as good as when he helped him move in. HELLO: Drought, no treatments, no irrigation, bi-weekly mowings insisted on, etc. He went to the feed & seed store and put out "5 or 6" 50lb bags of 10-10-10.