PDA

View Full Version : 15 HP Kawi Run Great once you start it BUT.


bahamamills
07-11-2007, 08:16 PM
And it will start soon after its been running BUT if its been sitting I have to barely mist it with starting fluid.

Does this model have a fuel pump? This mower only has 29 hours but it has been sitting for years. As I said it run like a top and smooth once running and ran it for an hour and a half today.

Thanks

mattfromNY
07-11-2007, 08:32 PM
Sounds like the fuel is draining out of the lines when it sits, perhaps a cracked fuel line or filter, or if there is a pump, could be ripped diaghram within. Probably something dry rotted while sitting.

Restrorob
07-11-2007, 08:32 PM
Have you made sure the choke is closing fully ?
If it has sat all that time the carb just may need a good tear-down cleaning, Something may be partly plugged causing a lean start.

bahamamills
07-11-2007, 09:40 PM
Thanks guys, I have already check the lines and they are in good shape.

Matt or Rob do you know if this has a fuel pump. I found this site and captured this diagram. The part in question is in the upper left hand corner under the T8 bolt.
http://www.gardenresources.co.uk/content/garden_machinery/manuals/husqwm227_hwen2002_0000000-01.pdf

The fuel filter looks very good clean and unrestricted. Just don't know if this is a fuel pump if it could be clogged. As I said once started and I back on the chokes it runs like a sewing machine. It could simply correct itself as I have just started using is and am consider buying it. Below is a diagram of the mower as well. I will also look at the carb while the trottle is in choke position.

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s231/bahamamills/Fuelpump.jpg

http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s231/bahamamills/CameraJuly2007014.jpg

Restrorob
07-11-2007, 10:10 PM
That is the fuel pump, But....If that were the problem the unit would quit within 5 minutes of running time.

My first post still stands.

bahamamills
07-11-2007, 11:09 PM
Thanks again for responding Rob will give that a check tomorrow.

Jeff

bahamamills
07-11-2007, 11:28 PM
Rob the 8th wonder of the world :clapping: :clapping: :clapping:

I could not stand it so I went out to the garage tried .....nothing.....

Took off the air filter bla bla and put the trottle in full position(choke) and it was not close all the way 3/4+.

Used my finger to close it completely while pulling the starter and wooooooooolaaaaa.

Restrorob
07-12-2007, 07:39 AM
http://www.gtr-game.com/forums/style_emoticons/default/tup.gif.....Now, Just slide the throttle cable in the hold-down clamp to adjust it to choke on it's own.

mattfromNY
07-12-2007, 08:05 AM
Good call, Rob!