PDA

View Full Version : Bio-solids as fertilizer?

SkyLawncare
07-11-2007, 09:10 PM
Just curious to hear what you guys think.

Super fast background on me, I don't run a business yet, probably be next year by the time i'm done learning and purchasing equipment.

I'm currently a wastewater plant operator with the county.

We just installed a system that makes class AA sludge out of the plant waste. It's sterilized and tested and theoretically you could grow vegetables with it.

The particular process we're using is the first of it's kind in the world and basically uses patented chemical processes to treat the sludge.

This company hasn't made any plans to do anything with this "product" as of yet, other than dump it on a farmers field somewhere.

I used to live near Seattle and I know that the City of Tacoma creates a product called "TAGRO" out of their sludge and sells it to the public. http://www.cityoftacoma.org/Page.aspx?nid=306

Is this something you would consider using? There really isn't any odor, it's rather earthy smelling when it's processed and could be mixed with sand and/or mulch. Best of all, there is a steady supply of the stuff and it's virtually free. Lots of possibilities floating around in my head.

I guess i'm just thinking of using or marketing this stuff down the road when things come together and wanted to know what your thoughts were on the subject.

Grassmechanic
07-12-2007, 04:16 PM
If you can pelletize it, you would have the same product as Milorganite.

txgrassguy
07-12-2007, 07:58 PM
Sky, activated bio sludge has literally been around for fifty years.
Started in Milwaukee Wisconsin, hence the name Milorganite and has been moved to many cities since then.
I really like this product and have used it to grow in everything from putting greens on a golf course to residential turf sites.
Regardless of the patented process, the end result is the same unless I am seriously mistaken here.
Post a label or guidelines for more info.

SkyLawncare